Learn more about some recent research highlights from the Center for Inverse Design

Meet some of our principal investigators in the Center for Inverse Design by viewing the short videos

Download latest chart of efficiencies determined by certified agencies/labs of best research solar cells worldwide from 1976 to present for various PV technologies; check explanatory notes (from National Renewable Energy Laboratory, USA). View or ownload the large jpg chart Explanatory notes pdf

Organization of the Center for Inverse Design

This page shows the organizational management structure of the Center for Inverse Design, an Energy Frontier Research Center. It also describes the roles and responsibilities of the key staff within the Center for Inverse Design.

Large blue equilateral triangle pointing up with a smaller purple equilateral triangle pointing down enclosed within the larger triangle that divides the larger triangle into three smaller blue triangles. The upper small blue triangle says Director (acting, Tumas). The lower left small blue triangle says Chief Theorist, Zunger as well as Theory Team - Freeman, Zunger. The lower right small blue triangle says Chief Experimentalist, Ginley, as well as Experimental Team - Poeppelmeier, Keszler, Toney. The central purple triangle says Center Integration and Outreach - Perkins. Overlapping the purple and two lower blue triangles is a box that says EFRC Council. A double-headed arrow points between the upper blue triangle and a brown box to the right that says Advisory Board - Kohn (Chair) Energy Frontier Research Center Council Center Director External Advisory Board Program Integrator Chief Experimentalist Chief Theorist

Organizational management structure of the Center for Inverse Design

Center Director: William Tumas, National Renewable Energy Laboratory (NREL)

Program Integrator: John Perkins (NREL)

Chief Scientist (Theory): Alex Zunger (University of Colorado at Boulder)

Chief Scientist (Experiment): David Ginley (NREL)

Environmental, Safety, & Health Officer: Bev Hiller (NREL)

Technical Responsibilities of Key Scientific Staff

Energy Frontier Research Center Council: Center Director, Program Integrator; plus one representative from each participating institution other than NREL.

External Advisory Board: Distinguished members of the scientific community: Prof. Walter Kohn, Chair (University of California, Santa Barbara); Prof. Mark Asta (University of California, Berkeley); Prof. Francis J. DiSalvo (Cornell University); Prof. Claudia Felser (Johannes Gutenberg University, Mainz); Prof. Rachel S. Goldman (University of Michigan); Prof. Alexandra Navotsky (University of California, Davis); and Prof. (Emeritus)Robert D. Shannon (University of Colorado, Boulder).